INDIANAPOLIS (April 27, 2023) – BioCrossroads, Indiana’s initiative to grow the state’s life sciences sector, today announced seven new members to its board of directors.

  • Central Indiana Corporate Partnership (CICP) President Latoya Botteron
  • Purdue University Indianapolis Launch Leader Daniel J. Hasler
  • Central Indiana Corporate Partnership CEO Melina Kennedy
  • Langham Logistics Inc. Founder, Owner and President Cathy Langham
  • University of Notre Dame Professor and Dean of the College of Science Santiago Schnell
  • Indiana University Provost and Executive Vice President Rahul Shrivastav
  • LabCorp Drug Development Senior Vice President – Head of Enterprise Client Solution and Business Strategy Stacey Yount 

“We are delighted to welcome these leaders and innovators to our board and look forward to benefiting from their vast experience, skills and intellect,” said Dan Peterson, board chair for BioCrossroads. “Indiana’s life sciences sector has experienced tremendous growth over the past 20 years, and the board will continue to be instrumental as we continue to fuel momentum for this globally significant sector.”

Kennedy and Botteron join as CICP representatives, with Botteron serving on the executive committee.

Hasler served as president of Purdue Research Foundation where he was responsible for protecting the University’s intellectual property and managing its entrepreneurial and technology transfer activities and helping move Purdue’s life-changing innovations through commercialization to the benefit of the public. He also served as Indiana’s Secretary of Commerce, attracting a record-breaking 254 companies to the State of Indiana in fiscal year 2012 and had an extensive, 31-year career at Eli Lilly and Company.

Langham holds and has held significant leadership roles in both state and industry organizations including pharmaceutical/life sciences, food and beverage, automotive, retail, and other sectors with complex supply chains. Langham opened trucking and air freight franchises three years out of college, then sold them and co-founded Langham Logistics, Inc. in 1987.

Schnell is an internationally renowned theoretical and mathematical biologist. He has published more than 150 peer-reviewed publications, one book and has received multiple awards in recognition of his research and teaching endeavors. His work has substantially altered the view of measuring and modeling enzyme-catalyzed reactions under non-physiological and physiological conditions. He has also made substantive contributions in diverse areas by developing mathematical models of complex physiological systems.

Shrivastav’s research on voice acoustics, speech perception and production help develop tools for disease detection and diagnostics, tracking treatment outcomes and improving hearing aid, cochlear implants, and other hearing devices. He is a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors and the American Speech, Language and Hearing Association. From 2015 until 2021, he served as Vice President for Instruction at the University of Georgia, where he oversaw enrollment management, student success, and overall infrastructure for teaching and learning.

Yount has more than 25 years of drug development experience across pharma, CRO and technology sectors. She has been at Labcorp Drug Development since August 2021 and is accountable for enterprise client solutions and business strategy. Previously, she held senior leadership roles at Medidata Solutions that included product development, customer success, corporate integration and strategic consulting. She spent 10 years at Eli Lilly and Company in data management, clinical operations, clinical pharmacology and statistics.

Peterson thanked departing board members: Claire Fiddian-Green, David L. Johnson, Patty Martin, Theresa Mayer and JJ Spegele.

“BioCrossroads has benefitted greatly from each of the community and life sciences leaders who have helped guide us,” Peterson said. “Their impact will be felt for generations.”

In addition to the new members and Peterson, the BioCrossroads board is also comprised of the following individuals. Asterisk denotes executive committee membership:

  • Regenstrief Foundation Chairman Craig Brater
  • Eli Lilly and Company Group Vice President US Diabetes Adrienne Brown
  • MBX Co-founder Richard DiMarchi
  • Roche Vice President Corporate Accounts Ron DiNizo
    • Eli Lilly and Company Group Vice President, Diabetes, Obesity & Cardiometabolic Research and Early Clinical Development Ruth Gimeno
  • Indiana University School of Medicine Dean Jay Hess, M.D.
  • Indiana Office of Management and Budget Director Cris Johnston
  • Elanco General Counsel and Corporate Secretary Marcela Kirberger*
  • Parkview Health Chief Academic Research Officer Mike Mirro
  • Indiana Biosciences Research Institute President and CEO Alan Palkowitz
  • Luson Bioventures Founder Derek Small*
  • Indiana University Health President, System Health Solutions, Ron Stiver*
  • Elevance Health President Health Solutions Bryony Winn
  • Community Health Network Executive Vice President, Chief Physician Executive Ram Yeleti, M.D.

About BioCrossroads

BioCrossroads ( is Indiana’s initiative to grow the life sciences region’s research, a public-private collaboration that supports the and corporate strengths while encouraging new business development.   BioCrossroads provides money and support to life sciences businesses, launches new life sciences enterprises, expands collaboration and partnerships among Indiana’s life science institutions, expands science education and markets Indiana’s life sciences industry. The initiative has formed several new nonprofit organizations, including Indiana Health Information Exchange, BioCrossroadsLINX, OrthoWorx, Datalys Center and the Indiana Biosciences Research Institute.