INDIANAPOLIS – A shortlist of six firms has been chosen to advance to the next stage in 16 Tech Community Corporation’s process to select a design team for a bridge that will serve as an architectural centerpiece for downtown Indianapolis and the 16 Tech Innovation District.

The six lead designers, selected from a field of 33 design teams made up of local, national and international firms that responded to a public Request for Qualifications (RFQ) earlier this year, are globally recognized for their architecture, engineering and urban development work. The six finalists are:

  • Behnisch Architekten
  • Kennedy & Violich Architecture
  • schlaich bergermann partner
  • Snøhetta

The RFQ sought the best firms from around the world to design a new bridge for pedestrians, bicycles and vehicles that will span Fall Creek from 10th Street and Riley Hospital Drive, connecting Indianapolis’ nationally ranked research corridor to the 16 Tech Innovation District, neighboring communities and downtown Indianapolis. The project also includes schematic designs for signature entrances and wayfinding within the 16 Tech Innovation District.

“The six finalists represent some of the most forward-thinking designers in the world,” said Marya Rose, vice president and chief administrative officer of Cummins Inc., 16 Tech Board member and chair of the bridge selection committee. “Their work is internationally recognized for creating dynamic urban community spaces and their talent for creating such spaces will serve 16 Tech’s vision to build a community of innovation, entrepreneurial activity and talent attraction.”

In addition to Rose as its chair, the 16 Tech bridge selection committee includes internationally recognized leaders Matt Shaw, contributing editor, Architect’s Newspaper; Shin-pei Tsay, director of Policy, Cities and Transportation, Uber; Sara Zewde, founding principal, Studio Zewde; and local leaders Vop Osili, Indianapolis City-County Council President; Dan Parker, director, Indianapolis Department of Public Works; and Adam Thies, associate vice president, Capital Planning and Facilities, Indiana University.

“We are energized by the overwhelming number of responses we received to the RFQ as well as the shared vision of the bridge as a landmark connector of people and ideas for 16 Tech,” said Bob Coy, president and CEO of 16 Tech. “The finalists share our desire to create an emblem of innovation for downtown Indianapolis and inspire a culture of design and innovation. They are also committed to working with local partners and spending time with the community to understand the unique geography and complexities of the site as well as the cultural history of the neighboring communities.”

16 Tech is a $500-million, 50-acre development located along Indiana Avenue in downtown Indianapolis with a mix of office, creative, residential, and retail spaces in addition to green space and trails to foster innovation in tech, life sciences and advanced manufacturing.

The $14.5 million bridge design and construction project is supported through a grant from Lilly Endowment Inc. and with funding from the City of Indianapolis. A design team will be announced this summer, and the bridge is targeted for completion in early 2023.

An aerial video showing the location for the new bridge leading into the 16 Tech Innovation District can be downloaded here.

*Each firm has assembled a team, including local firms, to complement the design, engineering and community engagement process and has committed to achieving 16 Tech’s diversity participation and workforce development goals. A complete list of each team, including local partners, is below.

About 16 Tech

The 16 Tech Innovation District is one of the largest talent attraction, retention and development opportunities in Indianapolis’s history. Located in the historic Riverside neighborhood of Indianapolis, 16 Tech leverages its proximity to top academic, corporate, and healthcare institutions—and a growing network of spaces, programs, and talent—to foster the cross-industry convergence and collaboration that make world-changing innovation possible.

The nonprofit 16 Tech Community Corporation oversees the development of the district and ensures benefits of economic growth, new investment and job creation extend to nearby neighborhoods as well as the city, the region and the state. More information can be found at

Finalist Team List

Behnisch Architekten, Boston, Stuttgart

  • Thornton Tomasetti, Chicago/New York
  • MKSK, Indianapolis
  • Büro Uebele, Stuttgart
  • DLZ, Indianapolis
  • Compass Outreach Solutions, Indianapolis

Kennedy & Violich Architecture, Boston

  • RATIO Architects, Indianapolis
  • Knippers Helbig Advanced Engineering, New York/Stuttgart
  • WSP, Indianapolis
  • Spackman Mossop Michaels, New Orleans/Sydney
  • DLZ, Indianapolis
  • Pentagram, New York/London
  • Tillotson Design, New York
  • Faithful + Gould, Boston
  • Artist Advisory Consortium, Indianapolis

MVRDV, Rotterdam

  • Blackline, Indianapolis
  • Pentagram, New York/London
  • Landstory, Indianapolis
  • City Strategies, Indianapolis
  • ARUP, New York
  • Clark Dietz, Indianapolis

NADAAA, Boston

  • Simpson Gumpertz & Heger, Boston
  • Infrastructure Engineering Inc., Indianapolis
  • Landworks Studio, Inc., Boston
  • Weihe Engineers, Inc., Indianapolis
  • Horton Lees Brogden (HLB) Lighting, Boston/New York
  • OverUnder, Boston
  • Engaging Solutions LLC, Indianapolis
  • Ellana, Inc., New York

schlaich bergermann partner (sbp), New York, Stuttgart

  • Practice for Architecture and Urbanism (PAU), New York
  • Moniteurs Communication Design, Berlin
  • Martha Schwartz Partners, New York
  • Shrewsberry & Associates, Indianapolis
  • People for Urban Progress (PUP), Indianapolis

Snøhetta, New York, Oslo

  • KPFF, Portland
  • HWC, Indianapolis
  • Keramida, Indianapolis
  • Shrewsberry & Associates, Indianapolis
  • SmallBox, Indianapolis
  • Art Strategies, Indianapolis